Decision Making

I’ve had my fair share of moments where I sat on the fence too long due to indecision.  The funny thing about fences though, is that your mind or those involved will tug on each leg trying to get you on the side they want.  Ouch.. unless of course, you’re Dwight Schrute:

dwightwide
“I know how to sit on a fence. Hell, I can even sleep on a fence. The trick is to do it face down with the post in your mouth.” – Dwight K. Schrute

All joking aside though, the indecision I’ve seen in some people always seemed to bother me.  Their lack or fear of commitment to a choice leaves their mind in a state of confusion and panic.  They find themselves in this constant loop of weighing the pros and cons against each other.  Then they begin to rationalize between the two paths before them, only to bring them back to square one, the fence.  Because, really what it boils down to is their fear of commitment to something and their inability to simply say “no”.  Right?

I have this philosophy that, regardless of whether or not you believe a decision over something is best for you at the moment, a decision is better than nothing.  Because whether it’s right or wrong or whatever, you’ll at least have been relieved of the burden of being on that dreaded fence.  And so from there, you can actually spend time and energy focusing on something else, rather than debating over it.  The second half of my philosophy is that, if it is the wrong choice, you’ll either learn from that mistake, or God will steer you onto the right track in His own fashion.  After all, I am who I am today because of everything I learned from the wrong decisions I’ve made.  When I was still in school, I adopted this practice of decision making by flipping a coin.  People would criticize me on this, since they thought I was just leaving it up to chance.  But the cool thing about a coin flip is that as soon as it leaves your finger, you already kind of know what side you hope for it to land on.  And if you didn’t, then you were okay with either decision anyway. Win-win.

I enjoy Nike’s slogan, just do it.  It implies so much.  Just go and get it done.  Just do it no questions asked and no complaining.  The best way to do something is to just go and do it.  I hate it when you ask someone if they want to help you with something, and they respond with “let me think about it and get back to you.”  And then they never get back to you, because they never made up their mind.  They rather just the problem fade away.  And that’s why “maybe” exists for Facebook events.

giphy

Try this.  The next time you’re presented with a situation with choices, rather than think about it and let the opportunity disappear, just pick a side or make a call and just roll with it.  Don’t flake out either.  At the very least you’ll have a story of regret or poor decision making to tell some day.  Because otherwise, you’re just thinking of excuses to get out of it or finding ways around it, right?  Granted, some decision actually do take careful thought and prayerful consideration, this little blurb is geared towards the smaller things in life (events, parties, where to go for lunch with your group of friends, volunteering, whether or not you want to ask her out, serving or not serving in a ministry, etc.).

Example.  One year Auntie Jeanette asked my friends and me to help out her office during Christmas time for a holiday party.  It was just simple things like helping with decorations and serving food.  We had a pretty fun time and even got to take pictures with some beauty pageant princesses.

21054_217868003123_2860222_n

We did so well, that Auntie Jeanette asked us to do it the following year.  Initially we all agreed, but slowly, one by one, everyone kind of backed out.. except me.  And I’m not the type of person to not do something just because my friends aren’t there.  So I stuck with my commitment and my word and helped out by myself.  Sure, it felt weird, but it was rewarding in the sense that I kept my integrity and that I didn’t flake out.  To be fair though, not having friends there was probably a valid excuse, considering her son wasn’t even there.  Also, there was no car at home at the time, so I actually biked to her office.. in the rain.  So that’s when I learned that I don’t have commitment issues, I just over commit to things.

Sorry if my overall thought process is a little cloudy.  I wrote this while in a state of strong food coma.

Leave a Reply

