Humble Pie

Since camp is just around the corner, I thought I’d share this story.  As you may have guessed by the title, this happened during the Summer of 2012.  The high school camp theme was Humble Pie, a play on Umble Pie, which was basically a poor man’s meat pie.  I’ll let you Google that.

It was Wednesday morning.  All the counselors had gathered together in the chapel for morning prayer time.  Chris Dea was giving a moving talk on why we’re here and why we do what we do.  The details are a little fuzzy since I was still pretty groggy.  But I do remember him saying that since God has given us so much, we can and should give our kids our all for that week.  He then gave us time to clear our minds and ask God to take away anything that burdens us or may inhibit us.

As I closed my eyes and bowed my head, I imagined myself sitting in pitch black room with only a spot light centered on me.

“God?”,  I called out in my made up setting, “Is there anything that could hold me back this week?”

I asked, for I was fine.  Nothing seemed to be bothering me, things had been running smoothly so far.  I searched deeper, perusing the inner machinations of my mind.  Buried deep within, I found Felicity (To reiterate, Felicity is just a name that represents a girl of the past).  Now, it’s not like I still had feelings for her, nor did I want to, but obviously God had me stumble on this thought for a reason.

“Why is she still in my mind in the first place?” I thought to myself.

And so I began to pray.  But the only thing that came to mind was to pray blessings over her. Prayers to bless her current relationship and for their possible future together.  I prayed against every little thing that could get in the way of their love for each other.  I prayed that he would be a better man than I could ever be.  I prayed that God would be the center of their relationship.  And I kept going and going until I thought:

“This can’t stop here…”

And so I began to pray for all the Felicity’s.  The same prayers for each one in their respective points in life.  If they didn’t have a special someone, I prayed that they would find one.

At the end of this seemingly intense time of prayer, I found myself humbled.  As tears of fatigue and emotional drain wet my eyes, I realized in an instant I had experienced the theme.  I had been humble pie-d.  I even went on to share this with my high school boys during the last night of camp.  I must have done something right, for it compelled and inspired them.  They themselves shared their stories of being “humble pie-d”.  (Like “Heat Off”, the term “being humble pie-d” never caught on after the fact)  It was another thing for them to bond over.  After all, we are all just a bunch of broken individuals.

For those of you that are close enough to me to know who these Felicity’s are, you’ll know that they’re doing great in life.  And so, that’s how I get over a Felicity now.  I just pray for them.

3423ac70850bda87ae9df1f1e94bab23

“32 “If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners love those who love them. 33 And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners do that. 34 And if you lend to those from whom you expect repayment, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners, expecting to be repaid in full. 35 But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be children of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked. 36 Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.” – Luke 6:32-36

Leave a Reply

