Behind the Music: Sometimes

1924176_34366438042_1254_n

So Summer ended and we were off to college.  By God’s supreme will, each member of Clan WumboQ went to a different school.  Even still, we made an effort to stay in touch and hang out; after all, we were in manageable driving distance of home.  Especially during our first Winter break, we found ourselves at Stu’s house a lot jamming and making sweet music.  We even covered a few songs and recorded them.  We recorded on Stu’s laptop, which meant we calibrated our noise based on how close or far we were from the microphone.  As freshmen in college, we still had time to spare, so we made the most of it.  These jam sessions carried on until about halfway through our 2nd year in school, when we started getting busier.

Check out some of our nonsense:

Prior to our sophomore year Winter break, Marty was asked to compose a song for the Christmas Advent series at Church.  It was a very open ended assignment, all he was told was that it would be for a music video to compliment the skits and shorts that year.

There is no question that Marty is a great musician.  But few people know that he’s also a pretty good lyricist.  Over his middle school years he spent some time writing lyrics for fun; similar to how a poet writes poems for fun.  As he became a better musician, he was able to bring some of those songs to life.  Have a listen

Riding the wave of jam sessions and hangouts, Marty presented this task to us.  We gladly accepted.  Marty scoured his archive of songs he wrote back in the day and just sort of picked one.  It was a song titled “Sometimes”, and based on the lyrics, it was probably written during a sadder time in his life.  Nonetheless, we were excited to get started.  There were a couple Sundays before break where a few of us tried to brainstorm ideas and melodies.  Since Matt majored in Music at the time, the sessions were both productive and enamoring.

Winter break came and we worked on this piece for about a week and a half.  This time, we knew it had to sound good, so we actually did some mixing on Garage Band.  We remastered Marty’s lyrics and he even wrote a pretty cool bridge to add to it.  Other than the laptop, we didn’t have any sort of fancy recording equipment.  We actually used a RockBand mic to do the recording (it helped that it’s USB and that it has a long cable).  It’s not a fancy mic to begin with, so we had to move away to breathe.

I_move_away_from_the_mic_to_breathe_in

In order to get good acoustics, we actually sang or played into a closet.  Mic placement was crucial, so we got creative in finding ways to hang it from above.  We used an old headset I found as a monitor when recording.  There are many layers to the song, so mixing got a little tricky at times.  In case you were wondering, here’s the rundown of the parts we played:

Marty – lead vocal and guitar
Matt – piano and backup vocal (chorus)
Stu – cajon and backup vocal (harmonies)
Caleb – bass
Josh – violin

Though I wish there were a few things I did differently for my violin part, the song came together pretty nicely.  It was shown in service to wrap up the advent series and we were all pleased with our creation.  Props to Leanne for basically editing a video based around the tempo and structure of our song.  Though our temporary band name then was Mold-Heeey, we decided that we didn’t want that to flash across the screen in the credits.  So we stuck to our roots and had the song be written by “wq”.

Best piano outro ever, right?  Hope you were blessed by the lyrics!

 

Sometimes

Sometimes I just wanna run into my room
And desert all my responsibilities behind me
Sometimes I just wanna forget everything I’ve done
And desert all my accountability behind me

(INTERLUDE)

Sometimes I see just how selfish I’ve been
And I hope to myself I’ll never do it again
Sometimes I see I just can’t do this on my own
And I fall down on my knees and seek the throne

PRECHORUS:

Sometimes I’m so frustrated by myself
And it disgusts me how much I let sin win
Sometimes I try to put my problems in the way back on my shelf
But then I realize that things’d be much simpler if I just let Jesus in

CHORUS:

Sometimes I run to Your arms
Sometimes I run to Your arms
Sometimes I run to Your arms
Sometimes I run to Your arms

Sometimes I just wanna forget everything I’ve done
And desert all my accountability behind me
Sometimes I see just how selfish I’ve been
And I hope to myself I’ll never do it again

(PRECHORUS)

(CHORUS)

BRIDGE:

And I hear You say,
“Child, don’t be sad, I will wipe away every tear
Child, don’t be scared, I have overcome every fear
Child, you are Mine, I will never let you go
Child, you are Mine, and I love you, don’t you know
It hurts Me when you hurt yourself
Breaks Me when you break yourself
And I miss you, I miss you, I miss you
So won’t you come home and be set free
Come home and rest in peace
Come home and rest in Me”

Just like

NEW CHORUS:

Every time I run to Your arms
Every time I run to Your arms
Every time I run to Your arms
Every time I run to Your arms

And I know there’s no universe You won’t cross for me
No ocean, no galaxy, no sin that’s too deep
No darkness so dark that You cannot see
I need You forever ’cause You have the victory

 

2 thoughts on “Behind the Music: Sometimes

  1. Pingback: Behind the Music: Africa | The Chronicles of Josh

  2. Pingback: Behind the Music: Sometimes (Prequel) | The Chronicles of Josh

Leave a Reply

