Meet The Couch, The J in JEL

So I debated with myself how to write this post.  I knew that if I left it to me to write about it, I would end up with one of two results.  Either I over complimented myself and seem vain or I passive aggressively knock down on myself such that I would come off that I lack self-worth.  While I was brainstorming how to humbly write about me, I asked my friends to write a little something about they thought.  I didn’t give them any constraints, and I have to say that what they wrote was better than anything I could come up with.

 

Cheeseburger Eddie wrote:

A man of great discipline who is able to dedicate himself any task he sets his mind to. A great sense of humor if you appreciate the style that he presents. A loyal friend, who will help move mountains and even points out that it may be better to use a shovel instead of a spoon.  And this is my favorite favorite picture of you.

207795_10151231695937797_1984483947_n

The Wall wrote:

Mmmm. The couch. A man of reliability and utmost discipline (insert your before and after picture). He went from more of a couch to a wooden chair in that picture.

Kevin wrote:

Josh Yuan. Yoshi! He’s a well caring, extremely disciplined individual, and a trailer blazer.

Well caring. You can go to Josh for anything. He always has a listening ear or ready made bed if you’re too tipsy. Always had a cooked meal ready when I visited him in college. Through all the ministry I have seen him serve, it’s without a doubt that God gave a huge heart to serve and love on others.

Disciplined. Once dropped ton of weight in college and kept it off. Finished the bible in less than a year. Maxed out units credits at school and beasted through every course. He has a amazing job at Flavorus because of his disciplined and work ethic. When he sets his mind in something he will achieve it.

Trail Blazer. From ordering the most ridiculous meal dishes to serving in ministry despite whom may serve with him. Bought a hybrid bike when all of his friends were buying fixies and road. He doesn’t follow the path of many others before him but rather creates a new one.

It’s true that I’ve only known Josh for a couple years but our friendship has been built for a lifetime. It did start with me turning in an essay that I called my own, got 100% (Thanks Josh!) but it grew into late night talks after commuters, biking with all the guys, serving in ministry together, and growing as brother of Christ.

I’m lucky to call Josh my friend!

me beforeme after

They both asked for these pictures.  June 2009 on the left, June 2010 on the right.  Dropped 40 lbs. altogether.

Fedex wrote:

This is Gimli son of Groin, I mean Gloin.

photo

As you can see, Josh and I go way back. We’ve grown up together since we were just babies at church. If you’re reading this and have never met Josh, well you better cause he is an amazing guy! What I would like to say about Josh is that he has a genuine care for others. Back in high school I remember he would take the time to learn how to do something and then teach me what I needed to know. Whether it was learning how to play a game, how I should write research paper, or what I should say during an interview, he would take the time to teach me cause I was so lazy and hated reading. Also during our senior cruise and an outing in Vegas, he was the one to make sure we were all okay.

One fond memory I remember of Josh was up at our summer church camp. It was the last night and some of the guys (Matt, Stu, Cameron, Marty, Josh, Me) had our friend Barrett tell us scary stories in the middle room of our cabin. We were seriously freaked out after hearing them that it was very tough for some of us to sleep. Our friend Cameron (who is pretty gangster-ish) was the only one out of the six of us that was sleeping on one of the bottom bunks in the cabins. Cameron was so scared that night that Josh, the caring guy that he is, got out of his own bunk and shimmied his way into Cameron’s sleeping bag so that he wouldn’t be so lonely. This instance shows that Josh has genuine care for all his friends.

All in all Josh has a huge heart for the people around him. He is a great dude, and brother.

X-deF wrote:

This is The Couch

10620738_261593797372242_764939923239724853_n

Some other names I might know him by are: Squash, Yosh, Yoshuay, Yung Yau, Gimli son of Gloin, Gimli son of groin

I knew Josh growing up at church and didn’t realize we lived in the same city until middle school. Our elementary schools, Carver & Valentine, would merge into Huntington middle school. I also didn’t realize what good of a friend Josh would become.

There’s so much to say about this perfectly picked squash so here’s just a snippet..

So squash is a cool dude. Ice cold. Maybe not in the normal sense that you’re use to– this isn’t a normal guy. He gets a long with anyone he meets and has this dry sense of humor that will make you wet your pants instantly. This guy’s annoyance tolerance is off the charts…whenever I’m being immature he keeps his composure…even if I’m being the biggest hot dog at the moment. He will love a hot dog no matter how big or small. The only kind of love that comes from above.

Josh isn’t afraid of being himself. He will cast a fishing line if everyone else has nets. He will wear a plaid shirt, plaid shorts and plaid shoes…at the same time. If everyone was going 80mph on the highway, he will go 65mph. The confidence he has to not be pressured into normal worldly things shows where he places his identity. His identity is in Jesus.

I’m trying to think of story that shows his heart of gold. But all I can think of is about how he threw-up one time in children’s choir, how he dared someone to wipe the socks he’d been wearing for 5 straight days over their face at church camp, how he let my brother throw frozen peas at his face, how he gave me advice when I was having a hard time in college, how he never hesitated to pray for me when I was feeling down in the dumps..

In all seriousness though, he’s a great guy and a good friend.

 

The Rainbow Wrote:

Meet The Couch

Capture

It took me a while to write this blurb about Josh because, let me tell you, Josh is one amazing dude, and I didn’t want to write anything less than he deserved. I’ve known Josh for our whole lives, which means my analysis of Josh is based on a more-than-competent sample size of data, giving my conclusions about him a minimal confidence interval and a maximum confidence level. (That means they’re really, really accurate.) So listen up.

First of all, Josh’s discipline (which he blogged about previously at least once) is always the first mesmerizing thing that I think of when I think of Josh. We live in a time and generation of increasingly “flaky” and non-committal young people overloaded by all the possibilities open to them in our “connected” technology age and ironically paralyzed by “FOBO” (Fear of Better Options) and “FOMO” (Fear of Missing Out). But Josh is not your typical flaky young person. No, sir. Josh is made of finer stuff. He is not afraid to make a decision and go with it. When Josh sets out to do something, he will not stop until he gets it done, no matter what the cost. This resolve, perseverance, and unrelenting commitment are absolutely standout qualities, rare and precious jewels that set him apart from the crowd. It is this quality that I most admire about Josh and seek to emulate in my own life.

Josh is also one of the most logical and reflective guys I know. A lot of people these days do not have all their screws on quite right. They just don’t make good decisions, swayed by all kinds of subjective, emotional impulses. But Josh makes decisions with great rationale. He does not have “knee jerk” reactions, even when something shocking and/or offensive happens. He takes everything in stride, considers all the factors, and then commits to a well-polished response. This makes him one of the best people ever to go to for advice, which brings me to the next quality of Josh that I wish to highlight…

Josh is a great, genuine people person and a true friend. I’ll admit, I didn’t always think so. Maybe that’s because it wasn’t always true. (Remember, I’ve known Josh our whole lives, so, like all of us, he’s grown and matured a lot over the years.) But it sure is now. For me personally, I am no stranger to awkward silences. I have seen and continue to see my fair share when I’m talking with someone and then suddenly I just don’t know what to say. In great contrast to me, Josh seems like he always knows what to say to make you feel like he gets you and he values you. I’m always reminded of this when I hang out with Josh in different group settings. He’s always able to adapt to different social settings to connect with people, but never in a way that compromises who he is and what he believes. As a friend, he’s not afraid to give you the hard truth when you need to hear it, but he also is a great encourager when you need that.

No one’s perfect. In theory, everyone knows this and most people will admit it. But it takes a real man to live the implications of his limitations. Josh is that real man. What I mean by this is that Josh isn’t afraid (1) to ask for help and (2) to admit when he’s messed up. On his own initiative, he has asked me for advice countless times, and he’s shared his prayer requests with me countless more. This is not an indication that he is excessively needy but an indication that he is incredibly humble. He lives the African proverb: “If you want to go fast, go alone; but if you want to go far, go together.” Pride is a huge struggle for any man, but Josh has a better handle on it than most guys I know, definitely something to be desired.

Of course, this incredible humility is rooted in his faith in the gospel of Jesus Christ. He understands that he is a totally depraved sinner, capable of nothing good except by the grace of God alone. Despite his many outstanding qualities, Josh points glory not to himself but to his Savior and his Lord Jesus Christ. Ask him more about this!

Single ladies, hear me. If I were you, I would do everything in my power short of being creepy to try to make Josh my husband because I know that he is the most committed, reasonable, authentic, personable, humble, and God-glorifying man whom I am likely to come across in my lifetime. Word.

 

I won’t go on and mar what they said by adding anything of my own.  Rather, I’ll just close with some pictures that I feel I look good in.

893144_10152645505602262_881708240062308861_o 976289_10153313435705788_2092923945_o image SDC-13625IMG_0666944996_590278564337513_645876172_n40404_1416438005079_4645434_n

Blessed and honored to have such great friends!

Leave a Reply

