The Best Thing I Ever Cooked

Roasted Pork Shoulder.

IMG_0959

Part of what makes this so cool was the entire process I had to go through to cook it.  The pork shoulder was originally left as a gift from Dave when he moved out.  When I moved in, I got to take his room.

Preparation started a whole day in advance since I had to let it defrost in the fridge.  I premixed the dry rub since I would pretty much start the cooking process as soon as I got back from class the next day.  As soon as I got back from class I put the dry rub on and seared it in a pan to render the fat.  I also chopped some carrots and peeled garlic to add to the liquid it would be sitting in.  The sauce was a mixture of BBQ sauces, hot sauces and Jack Daniels.  La had purchased a bottle a while back and I thought I would put it to cooking use.  Inspired by Epic Meal Time of course.  Cooked the alcohol out and poured it together in a tray.  Foiled it up and stuck it in the oven for the next 4 and a half hours.

It was originally dinner for two (Cheeseburger Eddie and me) but we had company over at the time.  Rachel and Janice were going to take out Travis to dinner for his birthday, but he couldn’t say no to my cooking.  So I invited them all to stick around.  I served it with rice and a simple spinach salad.

I had never cooked this before so I had no idea how it would turn out or if adding Jack Daniels was even a good idea.  To my surprise, it was delicious.  It fell right off the bone, it was juicy and tasty.  We spent the remainder of that Friday evening fellowshipping over Uno and tea.

T’was a good night.

 

What was the best thing you cooked?

Leave a Reply

