Roommate Stories Part 2

To reiterate, the following is a compilation of (funny or not so funny) stories of the bad behavior and mannerisms of roommates.  This doesn’t necessarily mean they were bad people, they just had instances of poor habits while living with them. These stories could be from my experience or from a friend’s experience.   They could be from my days in college or a story passed on to me.  In order to keep things ambiguous and to discourage witch hunts, I’ll tell all the stories from the first person point of view and each bad roommate will be depicted as a guy.  In order to keep you guessing, this blog post will contain one lie.  Now let’s hear some stories:

  • While dorming, one of my roommates kept his sunflower seed shells/scraps in a plastic bottle on his desk.  He didn’t throw it away until he filled it up.
  • One of my roommates had a weird sense of logic.  Any dish that I so much as touched was now mines to clean.  By touch, I mean help him take the heavy pot and put it in the sink.  This extended to ownership.  If he used my dish, it was up to me to clean it when he was done with it.
  • While I was sleeping one night I woke up to the lights being turned on in the wee hours of the night.  My roommate had woken up to spray the room with Febreeze, because he felt the air wasn’t fresh.  He sprayed every bit of the room, including where I was sleeping, which was annoying because it got on my face.
  • I had a roommate who would take our silverware to use at his girlfriend’s place.  We slowly lost a large chunk of our forks and knives because he never brought them back.
  • I shared a bunk bed with one of my roommates; he slept on the bottom one.  He was the type of person to set entire songs as their alarm clock ring tone, which is fine.  But on multiple occasions, he would refuse to wake up and so the song would just loop over and over again for the next 10-15 minutes while I laid there on the top bunk.
  • I’m pretty willing to share my food as long as you ask me first.  What bugged me about my roommate was that he would start eating the food and then begin to ask me.  I would hear the microwave ding and he would ask me from the kitchen.  Right as I said “yes” he would walk in the room to eat it.
  • One of my roommates would slowly “conquer” areas outside of his room (living room, kitchen, etc.) by slowly putting his stuff there.  It would start with simple things like a folder and a cup, but it would soon essentially be an extension of a desk or basically a second desk to him.  He would set up to do his homework, but leave everything there even after he was done.  It would also be his way of getting rid of things he didn’t quite want.  He would use unwanted trinkets and party favors to “claim” areas if he didn’t try to regift it to you already.
  • On weekends, sometimes I would cook for myself and just eat in my room to have a simple evening.  During those nights, my roommate would start up small talk with me for the sole purpose of eating the food he saw on my desk.  As soon as he got some, he peaced out.
  • My roommate was nice person on the surface level.  He would often invite people over for dinner and cook for them.  Although, it didn’t take long for me to realize that this was all a thinly veiled scheme to have the guests offer to do the dishes and take out the trash for him.  He always did this on nights where the sink was piled high with dishes.
  • There were a couple instances where my roommate would stay up late watching a movie.  He would watch it with the volume up pretty high.  I would get up to ask him to lower it since I would usually have an early class the next day.  He would then proceed to lower the volume and a single notch and carry on.  He seemed annoyed that he had to watch his movie at 99% volume now rather than 100%.
Leave a Reply

