Drowning

Has this ever happened to you?  Those times where you’re day dreaming and you start to imagine yourself experiencing something horrifying or discomforting.  Take this for example:

04-marathon3.w529.h352.2x

My mind has sometimes wandered into the idea of how that would feel.  Although I know I look good in a suit, I don’t particularly enjoying wearing one.  When I’m in a suit, I feel like I have to be in a constant state of clean.  So, I’ve imagined being super sweating wearing a suit and tie and it gives me the weirdest feeling.

I have friends that have been hit by cars while they were biking (drivers fault), and so I’ve imagined what that might feel like.  Pondering morbid thoughts like what would hurt more, the impact of the car or landing on the pavement after being tossed into the air?  Makes me shudder.

So one time, I imagined what it might be like to drown.  The idea of trying to hold your breath until you can’t anymore, and then having your lungs be filled with water as you suffocate is very disconcerting.

This is relevant because I recall a couple times where I ALMOST drowned.  I was at the brink of running out of oxygen and opening up my mouth to instinctively breathe what should be air.

The first instance was when I was 6 or 7.  I was at my uncle’s house for my cousin’s birthday pool party.  I barely knew how to swim at the time since I had just begun swim lessons.  The only swimming I knew how to do was going back and forth the ends of the pool.  And really pushing off the wall was enough momentum to carry me halfway.  The concept of staying afloat by treading water didn’t exist to me yet.  So, my uncle had this giant inner tube platform thing for the pool.  It looked kind of like this (minus the trampoline).

02020-bongo-20-main

It was definitely big though; then again, I was 6 or 7, so it probably just felt that way.  Since I barely knew how to swim, I spent a lot of time just hanging onto the side of the pool (which I was very okay with).  Some of the kids knew how to swim, so they were horsing around fighting for control of the big floating platform and jumping off of it.  Since I was hugging the wall, I didn’t really have a chance to get on it, but I wanted to pretty badly.  I remember telling myself that if it drifted close to me I would try to climb on.  The moment came and I latched on to it.  Except, I was 6 or 7, so I didn’t exactly have the strength to pull myself up on top of it.  So I hung onto it as I drifted away from the safety of the wall.  Again, some of the older kids were jumping on and off of it freely.  All the commotion eventually caused me to lose my grip and I fell off into the deep end.  I think I was scared; so much so that I didn’t even think to flail around to try to stay afloat.  I just remember trying to reach up almost as if to grab something to pull me up.  Before my small lungs ran out of breath, someone had grabbed me and pulled me up to give me air.  It was my dad, whom was either close by or saw the whole thing happen and jumped in.  It didn’t traumatize me or anything like that.  I think I successfully got onto the platform later that day.

The other time was in high school.  It was during HSMT’s end of the year taco / pool party at Pete and Celia’s house.  After enjoying our fair share of tacos, Matt, Stu, Caleb and I jumped into the pool, since no one else was.  Time passed and it was time to take the final team picture.  We remained in the pool in the picture since we didn’t have time to towel off and put on a shirt or something like that.  After the picture, Matt and Stu resumed their fun; play fighting in the pool and what not.  I was in the part of the pool that was deep enough where I had to stand on the tips of my toes to keep my head above the water.  Matt and Stu horsing around was kind of like how fights occur in kid’s cartoons.  You’re not entirely sure what’s going on, but its a cloud of commotion:

ep169_rose

Before I could move back to the shallower area, I got sucked into that cloud.  Not in the sense that I jumped in and participated, but rather I got knocked underwater due to their flailing and wrestling.  It happened so fast, I didn’t even get a good breathe of air before I went down.  And I stayed down there for a LONG time.  Because they kept play fighting while I was underneath and between them the entire time; getting elbowed and kneed in the crossfire.  They eventually stopped and I was able to breathe and cough out the water.

 

Don’t mess with water I guess.

Leave a Reply

