New Year’s Resolution

Some of you know me for having very doable New Year’s resolutions and carrying them out for the entirety of the year.  Here’s a quick recap of things I resolved to do:

2011
I resolved to say “Happy Birthday!” to all my Facebook friends AND to wear a shirt and tie every Sunday

This one was pretty simple.  It actually gave me small opportunities to have small talk (on Facebook) with friends I had not seen or communicated with in a while.  The latter was inspired by my brother.  He had posted a picture of a Yahoo article detailing how men don’t wear shirt and ties anymore.  That inspired him to start wearing a shirt and tie every Sunday for a long period of time, and as a result, inspired me as well.  I still wear a shirt and tie on Sundays with two exceptions: wearing a nice sweater (since it covers the tie anyway) and when I have to cook or do something sweat inducing at church.

10447507_10202552241621387_1749773218716463821_n

2012
I resolved to deactivate my Facebook account for the year AND to start taking notes during the sermon every Sunday

This was more of an experimental year.  Sure, I wasn’t super dependent on Facebook to begin with, but I wanted to see what it would be like without it.  It was really interesting to see how everyone else relied on it to simply communicate.  I wouldn’t hear about some EPIC events or hangouts with friends until last minute because the only way I was to be informed was through Facebook.  People began to text and call me more as a result of it, and maybe it should be that way.  Regarding the note taking, Steph had given me (and everyone else in our grade) a handmade notebook and I wanted to put it to good use.  Plus, I found that many times in life I would remember a main point from a sermon, but not the context.  So it’s nice to have it written down so I can always turn back to it.  I still take notes on Sundays; so much so that I ran out of pages and asked Steph to make me another one.

166066_10152868549275788_2060616417_n 969705_10152931363950788_599607819_n

2013
I resolved to take AND sketch a picture everyday

This was a fun one.  Contrary to some people’s beliefs, I did not do it for the likes; rather it was just a side project.  It’s pretty cool to look back at the album, because for the most part I can remember some of that day based on the picture.  I’m not one to doodle to begin with either, so drawing everyday forced me from my normal comfort zone.

550261_10152478487060788_437481764_n 1545203_10153667462300788_2055306583_n

For 2014, I was originally going to make a 52 post (one a week) blog, detailing traits about myself that I thought made me ‘awesome’.  Each trait would have a backstory or an explanation of why I am the way I am and ultimately how you could be the same too if you so desired.  In addition I drafted ways to have mini AMA’s (ask me anything sessions).  About 2 days before the new year (New Year’s Eve Eve), I scrapped my plans to do so.  The reasoning is two-fold:

  1. I had a lot of haters

Granted, I had a lot of supporters too.  But notice that all of these New Year’s resolutions were done two at a time.  That’s because whenever I shared my idea during a Christmas or New Year’s party, it would get immediately shot down.  Friends, family, peers, it didn’t matter.  They would say things like “that’s too easy”, “you have to do something else too”, or “that’s not a real resolution”.  Such was the case of why I drew and took a picture every day.  Yet, when I look through Facebook, I can find a handful of abandoned “365 pictures for twenty-something” albums.  Even when I was doing it, I would be told things like “that’s a cop-out picture” or “your drawings are too simple”.  I think people didn’t like that I did these little things as resolutions (as opposed to more abstract things like ‘be more thankful’ or ‘be angry less often’).  I mean, how can I know if I really was more thankful throughout the year without a benchmark or way to measure it?  It probably didn’t help that I would rub it in their face when I learned they didn’t keep their new year’s resolution though.  In any case, unfortunately, I cared to a certain extent what others thought about me, so I needed to stop doing these resolutions.

Dont-let-the-haters-stop-you-from-doing-your-thang

  1. I wanted to move away from college-like thinking

Though, I guess you could argue that this was a delayed/modified resolution as I’ve written more than 52 posts.  And frankly, a lot of what I wanted to cover is incorporated into a lot of these blog posts.  But all of these resolutions were made while I was still in school.  So, I felt that now that I’m done with college, it’s time to move on from that lifestyle.  Not so much in the sense that it was toxic or bad of me, rather just to get in the mindset of young adulthood and moving on to the next stage.  Similar to how putting your menu down at a restaurant signifies that you are ready to order, I needed an extra little something to tell myself, “Hey, you’re a young adult now”.  And so I did just that, disassociate myself from old thinking.

So there you have it.  That’s why I don’t do New Year’s resolutions anymore.  What have your New Year’s resolutions been?

Leave a Reply

