Day 5: It’s Gettin’ Too Hot

2/19/14, Thursday

Another day in Bangkok, another morning of breakfast buffet.

IMG_2817 IMG_2816

The agenda today was to visit the King’s Palace as well as the giant sleeping Buddha.  In order to be let in, you had wear long pants and something nicer than an ordinary T-shirt.  Despite the initial forecast of thunderstorms all week, it didn’t rain yet.  Thankfully, it was cloudy, so we had some cover from the heat.  That wasn’t the case for this day, the clouds decided to disperse and we were punished for our more formal attire.

I don’t have too much to say about our visit to these landmarks.  I’m not deeply engrossed in Thai culture nor am I Thai.  I’m not a Buddhist either, so as incredible as the giant Buddha was, the awe-factor was short lived.  The buildings were nice and everything, I just wasn’t very engaged.  This isn’t a shot at Thailand, I was equally interested when I visited landmarks in China, Italy and France (with few exceptions).  I will say that it’s hard to capture on camera, it’s one of those you-had-to-be-there type of things in order to enjoy the buildings, statues, art and scenery for what it is.

IMG_2821 IMG_2824

 

Apparently the Thai Monkey King has less powers than the Chinese one.  The Thai one can only grow bigger or smaller.  Why would you want to grow smaller?  So that you can grow bigger of course

IMG_2830 IMG_2831

 

You know how my sister likes to pose with things..

 

IMG_2836 IMG_2837

 

Still tried to attempt artsy shots..

 

IMG_2839 IMG_2844

IMG_2818 IMG_2849

Of all things, I actually enjoyed that door the most for some reason..

IMG_2850 IMG_2853

 

 

IMG_2860 IMG_2861

HUGE Buddha

As we were leaving these places, we found out that if you didn’t come wearing long pants, they made you buy and wear Thai elephant pants such as these.

il_570xN.557091089_ayp8

We left and headed to Terminal 21, a shopping center built to resemble an airport, with each floor representing a different major city with landmarks.

IMG_2868

Pretty cool concept..

Again, it was hard to capture this place on camera, you had to be there.  Otherwise I would have taken the time to take pictures of this place or their landmarks.

We had lunch at their food court.  Some good old fashion cafeteria food.  The vendor I chose had a giant vat of all the goodies that she picked out and chopped up in front of you.  It was pretty cool.

IMG_2863

IMG_2864 IMG_2865

After eating our fill, we split up to walk around and see what this place had to offer.  I stumbled upon a “Shoe-La-La” and was amused.

IMG_2866

If you don’t catch my reference:

We also came across a shop called Number One Brand Tea, claiming to have original Thai Tea.  There was a constant line of people, so it looked promising.  We ordered a black tea, just to see the quality, and it was pretty good.  Good enough for me to merit buying some leaves from them.

IMG_2867

After we were done looking around, we head back towards the Central World to have dinner at Laem Cha-Roen Seafood Restaurant.  To date, this is the only restaurant I’ve encountered where you order first, and then you are seated.  It wasn’t anything compared to that lunch we had yesterday, but it was still some good seafood.

IMG_2869 IMG_2870 IMG_2872 IMG_2873 IMG_2874 IMG_2875 IMG_2876 IMG_2878

When we got back I had enough in me to put in another hour of running.  Normally, I’m the only one in the gym, but this night another man came down to some running as well.  It was kind of funny because I think he felt the need to run faster than me.  So he slowly incremented his treadmill until it sounded faster than mine.

By night’s end, the Thai dating service number climbed to 32.

Leave a Reply

