Jesus in the Office

f18b2199fbaffe91b281675a665eb290

Brian had a few questions for me.

He asks “What does it look like to be a follower of Jesus in the world of software development?”

Software engineering as a profession can have its darker work settings depending on the industry.  Aerospace, hacking, security, large websites like Amazon and Google, among other places have some form of corruption or “grey area”.  They can range from seemingly innocent things, like datamining personal information to military related contracts and decisions.  For my current company and me, it’s not the case.  To answer the question, it’s no different than being a follower of Jesus in a regular office job or restaurant or something like that.  As much as I joke around about playing pool all day at the office, I put in a good honest effort into my work.  As far as I know, there should be no situation that could compromise my integrity as a Christian.  Should it ever arise, I would like to think I would handle it as such:

A job is a job in this economy, but what worth is it if I have to lie to go through my day-to-day?  At least for what I’ve dealt with so far, I’ve never been asked to lie to a client or cheat my way through it.

 

Where are and are there opportunities to talk about or even show the love of Jesus?  How do you strive to do this?

My coworkers know that I’m a Christian.  Some I told outright, while others deduced it from my mini-Ned Flanders demeanor.  I say mini, because Ned is an over exaggerated character to begin with.  I don’t curse or drink with them.  Although that might not mean anything as a Christian, that was enough for them to ask me if I was religious.  There are plenty of opportunities to show the love of Jesus, and I try to take advantage of those moments.  Really, it’s being nice.  I’ve done a handful of things for my co workers; I gave them a ride to the mechanic where their car is, I helped change a tire when they had a flat, I bring in snacks and tea, among other smaller acts.  My team is small, so it’s easy to get along with everyone and have good conversation every now and then (mainly in the mornings).  There are a couple co workers I’m trying to invest in, one has a Catholic background and the other was previously in seminary before he dropped it all to pursue a different lifestyle.  I’ll admit I’ve never been good at straight up sharing the gospel.  Life so far has taught me to be a good friends first, and then God will help me fill in the blanks.  All it takes is to have that one conversation that gets them to think.  As my friendships grow with my team, I hope to sneak a bold question in soon.

I think it helps that the CTO is a believer as well.  It’s hard to say if I would act any different if he wasn’t.  It’s encouraging to see the verses he has posted in his room every time I go into his office.

 

How do you mix good business practices with biblical foundation?

31 So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. 32 Do not cause anyone to stumble, whether Jews, Greeks or the church of God— 33 even as I try to please everyone in every way. For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.”
1 Cor 10:31-33

24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”
1 Cor 9:24-27

I like to think of it like those NFL kickers that point to the skies whether they make it or not.  Whether or not successfully knocking out tasks throughout the day, all glory to God.  As such, I try not to be lazy about my coding techniques and am always looking to learn and do things better, rather than just doing it to complete it.

Leave a Reply

