Mementos

During my time at Flavorus, there were a number of people that left, for various reasons.  And when people leave, they usually leave a handful of junk on their desk or in their desk drawer.  So I started this weird tradition where I would rummage through their stuff (after they left) and keep something as a memento.

IMG_3048

Bumper stickers from Will.  The classmate that helped me get the job in the first place and a genius of a programmer.

IMG_3052

An EDC poker chip from Nick.  Great project manager and one of the nicest guys I’ve ever met.

IMG_3050

Jeff’s slinky.  Great designer and he was the type of negative that was funny to be around.

IMG_3051

Sharpies and Toban‘s business cards from Jonathan’s desk.  Funny guy.  He just disappeared one day without telling many people.

IMG_3049

[Ajusshi] Ivan’s orange stress ball.  Another great programmer who taught me everything there was to know at Flavorus.  He was also the only other Asian guy in the office for a while.  Because of that, I trusted him too much (so much so that he pranked me for it, haha).

I thought about passing these on to someone else as I left, but another coworker mentioned that if I had any amount of attachment to these things, that I should keep them.  And so I did.

Leave a Reply

