The Vase

“What do you want for Christmas?”, Sharon asked my cousin Princeton over AIM.

Prince and I were at our grandma’s house, as we always were after school let out.  We were 9th graders and it was just a couple weeks before our Winter break.  We were doing homework, and I happen to be on his computer.  After the initial “ooooh, you’re talking to a girl”, I pointed at his laptop screen as he rummaged through his backpack.

“Just say anything, it doesn’t matter”, He said looking up at the screen.

He might have meant for me to literally type in “anything, it doesn’t matter” into the chat box, but I interpreted it as I can request anything I wanted.  I scanned the room really quick for some inspiration.  I sent Sharon the following:

“Get me.. a vase!”

And that’s the story of one of Princeton’s and my greatest inside jokes.  That’s why we always get little giggly at the mention of vases.  Throughout the rest of our high school career, there was a lot of back and forth.  I would get him a vase for Christmas and he would tell people I really wanted a vase for my birthday, and so forth.

The last instance was our senior year.  That year, I was really into making gifts, rather than simply buying something.  Over time, I had been collecting Snapple bottle caps (with the facts); specifically from the green tea line.

P1060653

I knew I wanted to do something with them, but I wasn’t really sure what for, so I just accumulated them.  So I got a vase and filled it with those caps.  I wrapped it up nicely and gave it to Princeton for Christmas.  We got a good laugh out of it.

Perhaps the funniest thing was a little bit after the fact.  As he was driving home, he made a sharp turn, which tipped the vase over in the backseat.  It didn’t shatter, but it spilled all the caps out.

IMG_3072

 

The last vase he gave me…

Leave a Reply

