Blessed to be a Blessing

“Blessed to be a Blessing”… The motto of Evergreen SGV

In Summer of 2011, I had the privilege to hear Pastor Cory speak at a retreat, where he spent a fair amount of time plugging that phrase in.  Since then, I’ve learned that that phrase holds a lot of value to me.  At least, I try to consciously apply it anyway.

So, I’m the type of person who is very frugal with himself, such that I can spend my expendable income elsewhere, specifically to bless others.  I know a lot of Asian parents do this for their kids; I guess I really am an old soul.  I actually budget out my money that way.  Since I was in college, I’ve always wanted to sneakily pay for everyone’s bill at a meal.  Not necessarily just that, but you get the idea.  Granted, I don’t make that much money, I still try to make the most of it.

I know what some of you are thinking: “Then why do you always complain about paying for your sister’s lunch!?”

If a high school budgeted a certain amount to provide pencils for all the teachers, and one teacher is constantly asking for 3 times as many as the other teachers without much cause, it’s a little frustrating.  I’d like to be able to treat others too..

Anyway, all this is more apparent for those that I support on the mission’s field.  I am currently supporting 3 friends on a monthly basis.  If you have some time, check out what they do:

matt           Matt, USC Bridges Staff

jared           Jared, CPP Epic Staff

elyse           Elyse, CPP Epic Intern / Part-time Staff

I know it probably came off the wrong way when I first started working.  I was really excited to throw my money around.   I really do feel blessed to help out others, and not just financially either.  If it’s not obvious already, acts of services is my love language.

Leave a Reply

