Clogged Ear

I remember reading somewhere (probably reddit) that getting  your ears cleaned out or irrigated is one of the best feelings in the world.  I can confirm that statement; here is my story.

It was a random day back in summer where it was hot enough to utilize the pool.  Engaging in some of the shenanigans with my friends, jumping into the pool inevitably got water in my ear.  I went through the motions of shaking my head and hopping on one foot.  I noticed that it took substantially longer for it to unplug, though I didn’t think much of it at that time.

Fast forward a few months where I am in the shower and getting ready for bed.  Through the process of shampooing my hair, my ear gets plugged up with water again.  Once more, I try to get it out and it takes a bit of effort.  I eventually found success in shaking my ear for it to clear up.  But before I crawl into bed, I sneeze and I guess the pressure caused my ear to clog up again.  I went through the motions of relieving pressure from ears, but nothing worked.  Frustrated, I decided I would just try to sleep it off and hope for the best in the morning.

When I awoke, I was discouraged by the fact that my right ear remained plugged.  It was bothersome because I couldn’t hear much of out of it.  For parts of that day, I was afraid that it was infected.  But it’s not like it hurt, so I guess that was a good indicator that it wasn’t.  A quick google search led me to find that clogged ear canals due to excessive ear wax weren’t that uncommon.  When I got home that night, I had my dad look into my ear with a flashlight and he confirmed the ridiculous amounts of ear wax.  My dad took the time to pick up some ear wax softener from the store too.

The first time I put the ear wax softener into my ear, it didn’t really work.  Though I felt (and heard) chemical reactions happening, my ear still felt constipated after I flushed it out.  The next attempt would have to wait though, as I had Danny’s wedding rehearsal to go to.  It was pretty tough playing violin through the set.  I guess I should be thankful that it wasn’t my left ear.

By the time I would attempt putting ear drops in again, 5 days passed since it was initially plugged, meaning my ear had adapted by making its hearing more sensitive.  For this attempt, my dad used an ear pick to dig it out.

IMG_3172 IMG_3174

It was about as wide as a small golf pencil and as long as a quarter’s diameter.  The feeling of all that wax being pulled out is akin to flossing out a large piece of food from your teeth, but 10x relieving.  With my ear cleared, I suddenly had super sonic hearing.  I could now hear the slightest whisper from my neighbor’s house to the soft murmur of my computer on (and I never knew it made that noise).  It took about a day for my hearing to readjust.

Overall, it was a weird experience.  It felt good, but I hope I don’t have to do it again.

One thought on “Clogged Ear

  1. Pingback: A Review of 2015 | The Chronicles of Josh

Leave a Reply

