Most Treasured Pokemon Cards

I don’t have a super extensive Pokemon card collection, but considering they’re almost 20 years old, I’d say they’re pretty vintage.  Yes, I was 6 or 7 when the craze hit North America.  I remember the inflation of the booster pack; somehow Orbit justified selling one booster pack for $7 a piece.  It was probably the peak of Gamekeeper before so many of their storefronts closed down.  There were lines that lead outside the store, with a buying limit of 10 booster packs per customer.  I was buying packs throughout the Jungle, Fossil and Team Rocket expansions until I eventually grew out of it.

It’s not much, but here’s the shoe box that houses my old Pokemon cards.  I even still have the few decks I made:

IMG_3346

Due to me not sleeving my cards, I can’t imagine they’re worth much, not even my Charizard.

IMG_3349

Before he got married and moved out of his parents’ house, my cousin handed me the remnants of his collection.  This handful of cards:

IMG_3348

All those aside, perhaps the cards that I treasure the most are these:

IMG_3350

They are movie promo cards.  Not to be mistaken with the cards you get when you watched the movie.  I don’t know if card publishers still do this, where they release cards with movie snippets and info on it, and they’re sold in a booster pack as well.

Some back story.  It was a Saturday afternoon and I was just in my room playing with my toys or something.  My mom was running errands and on her way back she picked up a pack of those cards pictured above.  She didn’t know that they weren’t the playing cards.  She just saw Pokemon and a pack and figured it was what I’ve been wanting.  I remember her asking me if they were the right ones as she handed them to me.  I solemnly said “no..”, but still appreciated them (it was a Pokemon item after all).  Keep in mind that I’m 9 years old in this story, yet a part of me understood the thought and effort she put into it.  I even added it to my card binder, putting them into its own 9-slot page section.  Come to think of it, that pack of cards might be the only pack of cards my mom ever bought me.  Other than Pokemon, I played Overpower, Yugioh, Magic and Magi-nation.  The sentimental value is through the roof.

Leave a Reply

