A Weekend in SF, Day 1

7/1/16 Friday Night, 7/2/16 Saturday

My family and I went on a trip to San Francisco.  We don’t get to do all that much as a whole family anymore since my brother got married and my sister started nursing school.  Since she’s in Sacramento, the location was probably appropriate.

The trip had an interesting start as my parents and I arrived at the airport the night before.  We pretty much left right as we got home from work and we were already aware that the flight was delayed by half an hour.  We would be mad but the flight was only half full.  If I wanted to, I could have had a whole row to myself (and that row could be isolated with a empty rows in front, behind me and to my side.  This was my first time flying out of Burbank airport, I was legitimately worried.  I had heard horror stories of this airport from my previous coworkers.  The stories involved planes almost T-boning each other on the runway and aborting landing because a plane was taking off when they weren’t supposed to.  The shorter runway also makes for abrupt braking whilst landing.

By the time we landed, picked up our rental vehicle and checked into the hotel, it was pretty close to midnight.  We didn’t even get a good night’s sleep as there was some sort of convention in town.  As a result, groups of hispanic adults were running down the hallway and talking loudly until 2 in the morning.  The hotel walls are pretty thin, so unfortunately I was able to hear their conversations with clarity.

We woke up early the next day to pick up my sister from her apartment and my brother and sister-in-law at the hotel they stayed at.  Before we started the long drive down to SF, we stopped by Starbread; a filipino bread bakery recommended by my sister.  They are famous for their Señorita Bread:

IMG_3500

(basically biscuit rolls with extra butter and added sugar)

 

A couple hours later, we arrived in SF where the cooler weather was quite welcoming.  For some reason, every time my family and I come here, we have lunch at Nieman Marcus’s cafe.  It’s a tradition now I guess?  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like a Nordstrom’s Cafe, people actually make reservations here and the food is pretty good.

IMG_3502 IMG_3503 IMG_3504 IMG_3505

I think people like to eat here for the ambiance and view

IMG_3506

After lunch, we had a chance to walk around and shop a bit.  At Uniqlo, we used their free photobooth:

IMG_3507

Since Uniqlo has a bunch of windows and mirrors, certain parts of the store were significantly hotter.  As my sister took off her jacket and tied up her hair, she was baffled by how I remained in my jeans and jacket.  Not sweating yet, I figured I was fine.  And that’s when I had an epiphany; I wear and shirt and tie 6 out 7 days a week.  Being over-clothed is normal to me now.  After my sister found some things at H&M and my brother looked at some shoes, we came across a tea shop.  I ordered a fresh oolong tea, but to my dismay it was still sweetened.  Other than that it was a nice concept and a nice find.

IMG_3508

(glass bottles are so in right now?)

We then met up at the hotel to rest a bit.  When we initially checked in, the hotel only gave us my brother’s room.  When we came back, my room (shared with my sister) opened up, but for the longest time, our parents’ room wasn’t available.  We complained and they gave us tickets to use at their breakfast buffet tomorrow.  Which to be honest probably doesn’t even make up for paying for a room but not having it for pretty much the whole day.  When we settled in, my sister and I found that we had to share yet another bathroom with a see-through door.

IMG_3511

(luckily it only allows you to see their essence if their super close to it)

We walked around some more and then had dinner at an Italian restaurant.  It was kind of cool since you could tell the place had some history to it.  I got the spaghetti and meatballs as that’s usually a good way to gauge a restaurant.  See how they make their simplest dish.

IMG_3510

Before we went back, we went to a Ghirardelli shop to have dessert.  I passed on the ice cream and such; too sweet for me.  Instead, I played the game of “see how many pieces of chocolate I can fit into a fixed price tin”.  To answer your question, a lot.

One thought on “A Weekend in SF, Day 1

  1. Pingback: A Review of 2016 | The Chronicles of Josh

Leave a Reply

