A Weekend in SF, Day 2

7/3/16, Sunday

We woke up early again, but we weren’t able to find a church that we wanted to visit.  Instead we had our own mini-service within a hotel room; complete with Bible reading, Hymns, Doxology and The Lord’s Prayer.  After, we went down to the hotel lobby to redeem our breakfast buffet coupons given to us yesterday.  The food instantly brought me back my time in Thailand.  Why?  Because thanks to the Asian population in SF, they had a section for Chinese breakfast.  The only thing they were missing was thousand year old egg.  Anyway, here’s the play by play of what I indulged in:

IMG_3512 IMG_3513 IMG_3514

After our huge breakfast, we agreed earlier that we wanted to visit the Museum of Modern Art.  It was our mom’s idea, but it’s not like anyone objected.  No one was mad at the idea of it, so we walked over to spend the day there.  I didn’t really know what to expect.  I mean, the last time I went to a museum was in college, and even then it was a requirement for a class.  I snapped a few photos of the things that interested me:

First exhibit.. the all red bathroom!
IMG_3515

IMG_3516 IMG_3518 IMG_3520 IMG_3521 IMG_3522 IMG_3523 IMG_3528 IMG_3530

It’s true what they say, you can only capture so much of art in a picture, so for some things, I didn’t even bother trying to take a photo.  7 extensive floors of sculptures, paintings, photos, videos, architecture models, mobiles and even an experimental choir.  It reminded me of how ridiculous modern art can be sometimes.  Some pieces were literally piles of trash.  One piece was blurry black and white footage of the slums of SF, and when you put on the headphones, you’d hear a lady read some propaganda in a monotone voice.  There was still some cool stuff in the museum, so I will not discount it entirely.  Out of it all, I enjoyed the more “normal” oil paintings.  Particularly, this one:

IMG_3517

(Probably because it reminds of MTG art)

After seeing every floor, we started heading back.  We were pretty tired from taking the stairs floor to floor, so we had a quick snack at the nearby Super Duper Burger.  I guess we had worked off our huge breakfast.  Before we got back to the hotel, we made a detour since my sister wanted ANOTHER drink from Bottle Zup.  We didn’t rest too long as we were going to head out to Fisherman’s Wharf.  The day before we made reservations at Scoma.  We chose this place because my family wanted to celebrate my birthday there; it looked promising too.

When we got there, we walked around a bit looking in the Crazy Shirt, Candy store, Game/Puzzle shop and Spice store.  I always enjoy spicy sauce shops when I see one, as you’ll find random sauces that you’ll never see, such as this:

IMG_3534 wimp

It’s a good business model.  The store had a wide array of sauces, dry spices, bbq sauces, salsas and even samples for you to try.  The store even offered a sample of the infamous ghost pepper sauce.  Of course, you have to sign a waiver first.  I had the opportunity to try it, but decided not to.  I had already sampled a handful of extra-extra-hot sauces and didn’t want the exponential heat to overpower me.  Besides, when my sister-in-law tried it, she seemed disappointed that it didn’t leave her writhing and frothing on the floor.  I’ll save my own disappointment for another time.

Then we went to dinner.  The reservation was worthwhile as some people had to wait upwards to an hour just to get seated.  When we got there, the place was littered with people waiting outside, inside and at the bar.  For good reason too, their seafood was quite fresh.  I ordered their Shellfish Saute Plate:

IMG_3535

(lobster, crab, shrimp, scallops… yum!)

For dessert, my sister recommended that we go to Bi-Rite Creamery.  Unfortunately, when we got there there was a long line out the door and it was already cold, windy and foggy.  I’m not really big on sweets or ice cream, so it’s hard to say if the wait was worth it.

IMG_3536

I noticed that because we drove around in a van, we got honked at a lot.  Not even for any reason; there would be cars in front of us and the car behind us would be spamming their horn until they eventually darted out and sped down the bus lane.  I know it wasn’t just us either, because I saw other vans get some hate as well.

One thought on “A Weekend in SF, Day 2

  1. Pingback: A Review of 2016 | The Chronicles of Josh

Leave a Reply

